Pacifica Trip Diary – Day 4

Day 4: January  11, 2014

The flight to Cairns was uneventful.  I flew on Virgin Australia which was more like the US airlines.  When I arrived at the Cairns airport, I took a shuttle bus to the hotel.  It seemed exceptionally hot.  My room was upgraded to a corner with a patio on one side and large window on the other.  The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub with a glass wall on two sides, one opening to the bedroom and the other to a shower area – interesting.  The room was great, but hot.  I asked them to check it out and was told that the air conditioner for the entire hotel was down.  Lucky me.  I stayed awake as long as I could with the door open in the hall way and the patio door to create a breeze, but when I went to sleep I closed the hall door.

When I checked into my room, I changed in to summer clothes and walked around town.  I found a Woolworth department store that contained a shopping market where I bought bottled water and some tings for breakfast.  I got the lay of the land so to speak.  When I got back to the hotel, I checked in at the travel desk and changed my itinerary.  My first adventure will be the Great Barrier Reef.

Leave a Reply

